The (Previous) Week In Drinks

One week in, and I’m already behind on posting! Now I know why all past attempts at blogging have failed. Oops.

I’m usually fairly busy throughout the week, so this may have to become a weekly roundup. I’ll aim to get this up on Fridays from now on, promise!

MONDAY

My go to coffee order for a while has been a skim cappuccino. Warm, frothy, low cal. Recently, however, I’ve been trying to cut back on my dairy consumption, as large quantities don’t seem to agree with my innards and if I’m honest with myself, I have zero plans on cutting back on cheese, so I’m trying to be lactose-free whenever else possible and that means ordering americanos over cappuccinos now (or if at the ‘Bucks, ordering with coconut milk froth). Yes, yes, the cap’s milk froth is a teeny tiny amount of dairy, but like I said. I love cheese and refuse to give it up.

…but last Monday was so nice. It was beautiful, sunny and cool – like autumn is almost here! Wrapping myself in a nice milk froth sweater from Maketto seemed like an acceptable indulgence to kick off the week:


Maketto is more known for its take on Taiwanese and Cambodian dishes, but it also houses a great breakfast counter upstairs, featuring Vigilante coffee and Frenchie’s amazing pastries. (It also has a retail boutique, which makes the whole establishment feel very New York. Maketto’s been here for over a year, and I’m still not sure DC is quite cool enough for this place.)

One of these days, I’ll make my way back there for a cocktail and dinner and talk about those drinks too.

Location: 14th & H Street bus stop
Beverage: Cappuccino. Maketto.
Vessel: Small paper cup. The barista capped my cup for me, which made me feel slightly more awkward than usual, as I uncovered it to take a photo.


By Monday afternoon, it had warmed up enough to sip on what has become my summer guilty pleasure this year: the “secret” Starbucks pink drink:

The off-menu drink is comprised of a Strawberry Açai refresher, made with coconut milk instead of water. The result is that lovely light pink delight above. A bit cloyingly sweet, but like I said, guilty pleasure. Those things go down way too quickly.

Unfortunately, the whole experience was a bit tainted by some young people (insert fist shaking and grumbling “not in my backyard” under my breath). My usual ‘Bucks location, due to its proximity to my office, is on the George Washington University campus. If it isn’t overrun with govvies, it’s overrun with students. In all honesty, I don’t mind the students, I remember my college days of ordering white almond mochas at the Richter Library Starbucks, I just wish I knew the actual class schedule, so I could go get coffee while they’re all in class, not lining up to get coffee between classes. (And yes, I know there is mobile order. Yes, I do use it.)

Tangent time: last school year, some dear girl turned around and asked me if I was also going to orientation and knew where X was. Totally made my day and put a smile on my face. This year, I just get ma’am’ed. Mr. A’s been warning me that once I turned 30, everything would go down hill, but I never realized how true that was. I’d love to get a “miss” every once in a while.

Back to our regularly scheduled program: this particular pink drink was ordered at a different Starbucks, while I was killing time before a meeting. Unfortunately, I happened to get in line right behind some young intern ordering 8 drinks plus snacks for her office. I feel for her, I really do, I’ve been the low man on the totem pole, but I’d be a lot more sympathetic if I could’ve gotten my drink a lot faster.

Location: Starbucks at 16th & K Streets NW.
Beverage: Secret “pink drink” aka strawberry açai refresher, made with coconut milk, no water.
Vessel: Grande Starbucks cold cup.

TUESDAY

Craving some bubbly water (I should really mark the Sodastream on our wedding registry “high priority”), I picked up an Aquafina sparkling water from my office’s cafeteria. Flavor: Black Cherry Dragonfruit.


This water was advertised as being made with a “hint of real sugar” and using “fair trade certified sugar.” Remember when sugar was sugar and corn syrup was corn syrup? You advertised your product, not what it was made of. Just goes to show how much crap gets put in our foodstuffs nowadays, that something that should be so basic is so novel that it’s an advertising point.


Anywho, this was a lot better than I was expecting it to be. Not very sweet, but a little tart. Rather refreshing and I’d totally pick one up again.

Location: The office. Like I’m telling you suckers where I work.
Beverage: Aquafina sparkling – black cherry dragonfruit. The Cafeteria.
Vessel: Aluminum can.


The evening called for some Zumba with my old personal trainer, George Cruz (amazing trainer – works you hard, but keeps you in such a good mood, you don’t realize how much you hate everything happening to your body until afterwards). George has been trying to get me to go to Zumba and I’ve been avoiding it like the plague. Zumba is just not my thing. Dancing is just not my thing. I danced and was a cheerleader for years, but I’ve never been able to move my hips and have zero to no rhythm. Give me sharp moves to hit, sure! Give me a salsa? Oy.

It’s true what Sparky Polastri said in the classic film, Bring It On:

tumblr_msimpkqprd1rdqbfro1_500

Apologies for the “r” word, but ’tis the quote.

I’ve been in dire need of some cardio but have also been avoiding running for a while, so Zumba it was. Lots of water gulping and confusion ensued.

Afterwards, I figured I’d continue the Zs with some Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand:


This 2015 Marlborough Sauv Blanc is from The Crossings. A light, crisp wine a bit straw-like in color, this was citrusy and a bit floral on the nose, with a bit of tartness on the tongue. Zest comes to mind, and I kind of wish I had had this one earlier in the summer, out on a patio somewhere, rather than in late summer on my couch.

Location: Queens Landing
Beverage: The Crossings 2015 Sauvignon Blanc. Awatere Valley, Marlborough, New Zealand.
Vessel: Riedel O Cabernet glass.

WEDNESDAY

If the PSL is the Basic Gal’s drink for the fall, then the Coconut LaCroix sparkling water is her summer drink of choice. I have no qualms about this. Give me yoga leggings and UGGs.  I’ll embrace it all!


Location: Queens Landing.
Beverage: LaCroix coconut flavored sparking water.
Vessel: Straight outta the can, with a purple bendy straw.

THURSDAY

Thursday mornings mean Pilates Reformer with Julie at VIDA. I don’t drink VIDA smoothies as often as I used to, because I no longer have a cup holder on my bike. I didn’t bike in this past Thursday, so my hands were free to hold all the beverages!

In a nice addition to all the other amenities VIDA has to offer (you need a gym recommendation? Talk to me and I’ll talk your ear off about VIDA’s greatness), they’ve recently added pre-ordering your smoothies, so they’re ready at the time you are. I went with a Post-Pilates Pom Power (I do love my alliteration): coconut water, Pom juice, blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, bananas and protein:


Nice and frothy, and just the right size to keep me energized until lunch time. I tend to avoid milk/yogurt based smoothies (see: Monday above), but luckily VIDA’s Fuel Bar carries a whole menu of delicious coconut water based smoothies.

Location: VIDA Fitness – Verizon Center.
Beverage: Pom Power smoothie. Vida Fitness Fuel Bar.
Vessel: Plastic cup to go!


Thursday evening was Washington, DC life at its core: networking event overlooking the White House:

A good friend’s firm was celebrating their anniversary at the historic Hay-Adams Hotel, where presidents-elect have been spending the night before inauguration, looking out over their future home for the next four years. Not only were we at the Hay-Adams, but we were in the Top of the Hay, the hotel’s exclusive rooftop event space. A beautifully breezy cool evening overlooking the White House (and its snipers on the roof!). Doesn’t get much more DC than that!

Now, I can’t tell you a thing about that glass of red wine, because it was red, white, or bubbly when it came to the grape stuff and I didn’t take the time during any of the many visits to the bar, so I’ll tell you about the hors d’oeuvres instead. I know, this is a beverage blog and I forgot the beverages. #worthless.

Now, hors d’oeuvres: the Hay-Adams does hors d’oeuvres riiiiiiiiiight. Fig and goat cheese in a puff pastry. Jerk shrimp skewers. Prosciutto wrapped melon. Crostini…with things on top. I forget.  Tuna tartare in a waffle cone (my favorite). My mouth is watering, thinking of it now. So many more good bites, but I’m blanking, so time to go to the next drink:


That was a Maker’s Mark and Fever Tree ginger beer. For whatever reason, they only had ginger beer and no ginger ale, but it was still so good, I forgot to take a photo until I was nearly done. (Fever Tree also makes a great ginger ale, FYI, and some awesome mixers in general.)

There was also some prosecco had, but I was handed it, so I can’t tell you much more than this: bubbly and drinkable.

I suppose, that’s all that really matters, drinkability. On that note, I’ll end this week’s roundup with this:

Leave a Reply

