The (Previous) Week in Drinks

MONDAY

img_1568

No one can tell it’s not quite right once it goes in my very banged up rose gold cold cup!

I’ve mentioned that I love the Starbucks Secret Pink Drink, right? I’ve been meaning to try and make my own at home, but this was the first time that I actually had all the seemingly right ingredients: strawberries, green tea, açai juice, and coconut milk!

Unfortunately, all the parts did not quite equal the whole that I wanted. Good, but just not the same.

The strawberries were froze rather than freeze-dried, which made the tartness stand out and the drink slushy. I used green tea and açai juice, rather than açai green tea, not sure what difference that makes. Between the açai juice and the coconut milk, it was never as light pink as the Starbucks version. Ah well, now that it’s getting cooler, maybe next year!

TUESDAY

img_1631

Milk and Cereal, Milk and Cereal, Cereal and Milk, Cereal in Milk

Do you ever pack yourself a lunch and then once you heat it up, it just kind of wilts and turns out is about 1/4 the serving size you thought it was? I had some pasta salad on Tuesday that I microwaved and I was lucky if it was even 1/4 of what I thought it was.

Luckily, Postmates was running a special for free delivery from certain restaurants. After browsing a bit, I chose a lunch special from Momofuku’s Milk Bar in City Center DC: a bomb (I chose the Ballpark Bomb, which is a mash-up of delicious stadium snacks: honey mustard cream cheese and sliced hot dogs nestled inside soft pretzel dough, topped with kosher salt, sesame seeds and celery seeds), a cookie (confetti, obvs), and cereal milk.

I’ve never been one to just sit and drink milk. As a kid, I could only stand drinking flavored milk, and while I may not have quite the sweet tooth I did as a kid, I still am not super crazy about drinking milk straight. Even if it is cereal milk, I could only take a couple sips at a time, which was just enough to keep me sated. While still delicious, I much prefer cereal milk in the form of soft serve ice cream!

WEDNESDAY

img_1636

Sweetgreen Ginger Lime Fresca, with a million salads to go in the background.

Sweetgreen is always a reliable lunch spot (as evident by the  counters laden with pre-ordered salads and the line out the door) and occupies a soft spot in my heart as Mr. A was lured over to work there while they were plotting their expansion. Unfortunately or not, it turns out that fast casual was not quite Mr. A’s jam, so when he was presented the opportunity to go back to full service dining and with a chance to be in charge, he jumped the salad ship.
FRIDAY

Errands brought me out to my old ‘hood, Pentagon City, on Friday, and samples brought me into Teavana. There were a number of autumnal blends available to try, including these two: Caramel Truffle and a Youthberry & Wild Orange Blossom blend. I couldn’t bring myself to try Caramel Truffle, so I went with Youthberry & Wild Orange Blossom. My usual tea order at Starbucks is the Youthberry White Tea and I have Wild Orange Blossom at home, so as expected, ’twas delightful.

img_1638

Caramel Truffle just sounds wrong as tea

In lieu of a blend containing one tea that I already have, I instead decided to buy several ounces of Ruby Spice Cider, a blend of their Mulled Pomegranate Cider herbal tea and Spiced Apple Cider rooibos tea. Warm and spiced, this was the perfect blend to enjoy as the weather has finally cooled off here in DC.

While waiting for my tea to be prepared, I did give in and try a dessert tea: the S’mores tea sample on the counter:

img_1637

S’mores are meant for campfires, not teas

I’m not big on chocolate to begin with, but s’mores are meant to be enjoyed with actual graham crackers and fire involved.

So then I moved on to getting an iced tea to enjoy while making my way back into the District. I got to take a whiff of the Imperial Açai Blueberry white tea, which was absolutly delightful to smell:

img_1639

This smelled sooooooo good

There are some currant and hibiscus undernotes here and I was thisclose to getting it, but then the Teavana employee said that this next one was her favorite:

img_1641

This would also work well as a potpourri.

The Strawberry Blush Rosé oolong. It was so pretty to look at, with those tiny pink rosebuds in it. I ended up choosing this one, after noticing that the caffeine level was much lower than the Imperial Açai Blueberry (it was fairly late in the evening). I just wish I had found this earlier in the summer! It really is the tea version of rosé, and I could’ve gone 100% #roseallday.

Leave a Reply

